Has an Era of CCM’s Musical Theatre Program Come to an End?


Has a legendary era at a prestigious musical theatre program come to an end?

At the beginning of the year, it was reported to me that Professor Aubrey Berg, Chair of The MT program at University of Cincinnati's College-Conservatory of Music(CCM), stated that he would be retiring at the end of the year. 

When I asked CCM for comment, they told me that Professor Berg was not stepping down at the end of the year. And they have not formally announced Berg’s departure.

However, the MT Chair position has been listed on job sites such as Higheredjobs.com as of Dec 14th.

Marking the end of a storied career, Mr. Berg has headed the Musical Theater program at CCM for the last 24 years. During his tenure, Mr. Berg has seen CCM rise to perennially become one of the top musical theatre programs in the country.

Many CCM alumni during Berg's tenure have appeared on Broadway and beyond. They include Karen Olivo, Betsy Wolfe, Kristy Cates, Christy Altomare, Alexa Green and Aaron Albano. 

According to his CCM bio, Ms. Berg studied directing at the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School, British Drama League (London), British Council (Stratford-upon-Avon) and with Robert Mohr, Nat Brenner and Burnet Hobgood. A native of South Africa, he was the resident director and dramaturge for the Performing Arts Council and artistic director of the President Theatre in Johannesburg. He has served as head of the theater programs at Catawba College in North Carolina and Birmingham-Southern College in Alabama.

Berg's productions for professional, educational and community groups have been given in Birmingham, Chicago, Detroit and London. He has won a DALRO Award Citation in Johannesburg, Joseph Jefferson Award citations in Chicago, Obelisk Awards in Birmingham and Cincinnati Entertainment , Acclaim and Post-Corbett Awards (Cincinnati). He has given seminars at regional and national meetings including the American Theatre Association, Southeastern Theatre Conference, Newcomen Society and Danforth Society.

In 2010, he received the League of Cincinnati Theatres Award of Excellence and was elected to the CEA Hall of Fame.